The North Wales Society of Fine Art

The North Wales Society of Fine Art was established in 1990 by founder president Margaret Stevens to encourage the promotion of botanical artwork across Wales and into the north west of England. Margaret went on to become the President of the Society of Botanical Artists (SBA) but has now retired.

Beginning mainly as a group of artists specialising in botanical art, the North Wales Society of Fine Art has since developed, and as well as SBA members and Royal Horticultural Society Gold Medallists, it now includes many other awardwinning professional artists specialising in fine art.

Artists invited to join the society demonstrate both technical excellence and fascinating view-point. The subject matter varies from botanical, landscape, portrait and wildlife art in oil, acrylic and watercolour paints, ink and pastels, to textile artwork and sculpture

. The aim of the society is to encourage a highly professional standard of work and to offer its members the opportunity to display their works in major exhibitions annually, at different venues across Wales and the north west of England.

The society’s patron, Edmond Douglas-Pennant, donates an annual award for artists producing the two most popular works, as voted for by the general public, in the annual exhibition.

There are also six Society Awards given, three to the botanical and three to the general categories, by two independent judges experienced in the arts profession.


The Society’s 2016 Exhibition was held at the Canolfan Ucheldre in Holyhead on Anglesey.

The list of awards can be viewed here.